Andrew Wilkinson has been chosen as the new leader of the B.C. Liberal Party, edging out former Conservative MP Dianne Watts on the fifth ballot in a vote Saturday night.
Wilkinson, 60, becomes the third elected leader of the party in 25 years, following Christy Clark and Gordon Campbell.
The oldest candidate in the race, Wilkinson had the most caucus support with endorsements from 13 MLAs. He has a long history with the party, including a stint as its president at the beginning of the century.

There was some public criticism that he may have come across too combative and old style in his speech. A more collaborative approach would have been received better, especially given the early success of the NDP and Green Party collaboration that to date, seems to be working.